My favorite dessert in the world is Smores, but recently I found out what makes up a marshmallow and had a panic attack after wanting to throw up. I am sure you know Gelatin is in marshmallows, but do you know what Gelatin actually is made of? If you don’t care and don’t want to know, I wouldn’t read anymore. If you do care what goes in your body and want to be educated, be prepared to never eat a traditional marshmallow again.
Gelatin is created by boiling skin tendons, ligaments and/or bones and usually comes from cows or pigs. Gross. It’s made primarily from the stuff meat industries have left over — I’m talking about pork skins, horns, and cattle bones. So that is enough for me to never eat Gelatin again, but the stuff isn’t just in marshmallows, it is in so many items we consume including, but not limited to: Vitamins and cosmetics, gummy bears and most gummy candies, yogurts, pop tarts with frosting, frosted cereals, icing, cream cheese, sour cream, ice cream and some wines. Luckily there are so many sites you can use now to check if your wine or candy is vegan or not.
So, how do you bake things when the recipe calls for Gelatin? You can replace Gelatin with Agar-agar, a gelatinous substance made from algae. Find this at any health store or online here. Also, be sure to read your labels and see if Gelatin exists in your products, I bet you would be surprised at all the products it is in. The good news is there are so many companies coming out with options that do not have Gelatin in them – and if you need some Smores in your life I have you covered:
Share your thoughts on nasty Gelatin below and let me know if you have tried Dandies yet? I can’t wait to make my new and improved #vegan Smores. xx, Beth